WhatsApps Launches A New Feature That Prevents You From Being Added To Random Groups
If you are done with being added to random groups without your permission, now you can change it in the settings option.
Facebook owned chat app, WhatsApp has released a new feature that gives users more control regarding the groups that they want to join. Now, a group admin or someone creating a new group has to send a private message to get permission to add that particular person to a group. If the person requested to join a group rejects or denies joining, the group admin won't be able to add the person to the group.
But, this new feature needs to be enabled by users first. After updating WhatsApp, you can go to the Settings option in the Menu section on the top right corner in WhatsApp. In the settings option, head over to Account and then tap on Privacy. The Privacy section includes Groups, which shows three options once a user taps on it. Three options include 'Nobody', 'My Contacts' or 'Everyone'.
If a user selects 'Nobody', then no one will be able to add the user to a group and the user needs to approve the group he or she’s been asked to join. Selecting 'My Contacts' will allow only WhatsApp users in the users contacts to invite the person to be added to a group. Once a person from the user’s contacts sends them an invite, the link has an expiry date of three days. If the user does not join a group using the link within the stipulated time of 3 days, the link will disappear.
Basically: Account > Privacy > Groups and select one of three options: 'Nobody' or 'My Contacts' or 'Everyone'.
And if a user selects ‘Everyone’, then the user can be added by anyone in a group including people in their contact list and even strangers.
WhatsApp has started rolling out the feature and users across the world may get the feature in a few days.
These steps will also help in curbing the spread of fake news. Also, keeping the Indian elections in mind, this is a step which is expected to limit the spread of malicious news as well.